Tutorials Seen in my Showreel.

“We Can’t help Everyone, but Everyone can Help Someone.”

– Ronald Reagan

Hey Guys,

As this site has just launched and chances are no one is even reading what I am writing I suppose this is kind of pointless, however I will continue anyway. Anyone that has used this site will hopefully of checked out my showreel and hopefully enjoyed it too. However I fully confess to be a complete amateur design artist and I cannot take full credit for all of the work presented. Whilst all content was generated by me, several clips were based very closley off of tutorials with only minor changes. I will credit all tutorials in this post and if anyone decides to follow them, leave a comment with a link to what you came out with.

The first clip in the showreel is a title I made for a montage trailer (Back when I was still editing gaming videos), the title looks sweet but it is more of less just a copy of the tutorial for realistic fog on aetuts.com. You can watch Sachin man Joshi’s amazing tutorial on realistic fog effects here.

The next tutorial I would like to credit is videocopilots ‘animating a still’ lesson; the effects they present in this video help bring life to any still image and whilst I didn’t use all the effects demonstrated it was massive influence on my ‘Pakistan is Drowning’ project (repeated several times int he showreel). You can watch Andrew Kramers amazing tutorial on animating a still here.

There is a shot towards the latter end of the video of a 3D audio spectrum evolving and changing changing colour, whilst I input the colour change to correspond with the pitch shift, the 3D spectrum itself was an incredibly technical peice of design work that took me many attempts to get functioning correctly. However as this tutorial is mainly based on expressions (a particular weakness of mine) I had to copy the expressions to the letter, the only creative input I had was the colour and camera work. You can watch Satya Mekas genius tutorial on 3D audio spectrums here.

Finally I would just like to acknowledge a more general tutorial; whilst colour grading is subjective the mood and feel of a particular shot/ photograph you still need to know which tools to use. I benifited greatly from watching a few colour grading tutorials and then experimenting but as an all round tool overview this tutorial will suit most needs. You can watch Hugo Tromps useful tutorial on colour grading here.
Please leave a comment linking to any tutorial based work you have made and let us know what you think of the tutorials listed above.

Peace,

Matt  :)

About Matt Knight Blog
http://www.matt-knight.net/about

One Response to Tutorials Seen in my Showreel.

  1. Pingback: 2010 Showreel « Matt Knight

Leave a Reply

