Don’t Make Any Resolutions!

Now before you run off to McDonald’s, eat 100 hamburgers and buy a plane, please let me make it clear that in most cases it is best and I urge you to, keep to your resolutions. However I do just want to raise a point about how we as the public use the new year as a key time to change.

First things first: HAPPY NEW YEAR!

I hope that each and every one of you had a lovely new years evening and a great new years day too. In fact some of you may have had such a good time you were only just peeling yourselves off the floor the other day; but that’s ok. That means that, like me, you may also have not made any new years resolutions yet, in which case STOP. Now, of course if there is something that you have only just realised about yourself or something has happened to you only this week that you insist upon changing the circumstances of, be my guest. I’m not saying don’t change or improve yourself, but equally don’t do it for the sake of it.

I’ll use myself as the example; I’d like to think that I am a generally well-rounded guy, I keep fit, do my work and don’t O.D on nights out. And whilst of course I would never suggest I’m anywhere near perfect, last year I was at a loss as what to do for a new years revolution. So after some thinking I decided that I would not drink alcohol (link takes you to stopdrinkingadvice.org) for 3 months, and unsurprisingly it wasn’t some ‘life changing experience’ and I saw nothing through a ‘new perspective’, in fact all I wanted for 2 months was a pint!

Now you may have noticed ‘2 months’ there, but I do have a reason for breaking my new years resolution; you see, as someone who was never a big drinker to begin with I didn’t need to deny myself a simple pleasure in life, and I’m seeing people make similar mistakes this year. I’m hearing of fit people wanting to get fit, of clever people who want to get better grades and so on; the problem with these resolutions is that we tailor them to something we can achieve. And yeah, that’s great and all but at the end of the day people like us don’t really need to make these kind of resolutions. (Plus did you know that most new years resolutions don’t stick past Febuary?)

I’ll give you another example, myself in the spotlight again. I said to myself at the start of this year ‘Matt, this year is the year you become organised’ and then I thought, wait a minute, that’s ridiculous! I may well prove to never be properly organised in my entire life and that’s the sad truth. I muddle through things most of the time untill the job is done, that’s just who I am-so instead I looked at my resolution more objectively. I though ‘Why do I want to be more organised?’ then I thought ahead to this year, well I have to get a  work placement, pass my exams and do well on my course. Right, well there are three simple tasks that should be simple to achieve: revise=pass exams, apply around and everywhere=get a work placement and if I work hard, that should=a good grade for the year. And hopefully you guys can do this yourself too, don’t blanket your wants for the year under one resolution, instead become objective and focus on the things you really want.

(Click here for the most common New Year’s resolutions)

If you want a sports car, save up enough money by creating a separate savings account and in the meantime make sure you’ve viewed and research every car properly and if you want to go on holiday, book the time off now a clear your schedule for that date. You may think I’m over simplifying things here but I’m really not. So my new years resolutions are these:

  • Pass my exams
  • Get a good work placement
  • Do well on my course

I can achieve all these things as long as I remain objective and stay on course, and hopefully I will let you know in the future whether I actually achieved these goals or not. I sincerely hope you can all do the same this year but there is one last piece of advice:

Don’t forget to let your hair down every once in a while ;)

Don’t forget to leave a comment with your resolutions too!

Peace,

Matt  :)

About Matt Knight Blog
http://www.matt-knight.net/about

Leave a Reply

