The Balloon

Hey Guys,

So I’m going to reveal another project I’m working on, as you might guess, it’s called ‘The Balloon’. 

So, the reason I didn’t include this project in my blog the other day is because, well, in truth I didn’t have it figured out yet. Now, I feel I do. The Balloon was initially a web-comic idea to follow up my mildly successful first outing into the field: Pancakes and Apples – Diary of a Boy at Sea (Please check it out!). However after a few drafts and working with the idea I just couldn’t get it to work; I felt the project could only work well if the visuals were up to what I imagined, and sadly my drawing is not up to what I see in my head. So I scrapped the project, but it stayed in my mind. Sadly, I don’t feel I can disclose fully what the story actually is, in case this project takes off in the way I hope it does; but I will say this: The Balloon is a story about optimism, and primarily, about looking up.

After a phone call with my (eternally wise) mother, we agreed that the story could work in a children’s book format; I know an illustrator through my part-time job and should I finish drafting the book, I will approach her and ask her to do the illustrations. Right now, I am two pages in and do not know entirely know many pages there will be in total; but it’s something I will continue with and aim to finish by the end of summer. I will keep you guys updated via this blog as I am always excited to start something new!

I’ve attached below two of my first (very rough) first drafts, I am not sure if I will submit them to the artist as they are very crude,  but equally they give away so little that I feel I can post them here without ruining the story!

Man, I’m making this sound like something out of Mission: Impossible!

 But anyway, that’s what I am up to at the moment, for more updates subscribe to this blog, or follow me on twitter.

Take it easy,

Matt  :)

Draft Page 1

Draft Page 2

About Matt Knight Blog
http://www.matt-knight.net/about

Leave a Reply

