Movie Soundtracks: The Most Emotional Form of Music?

There is a lot of music out there, and a lot of vocalists sing about grief. Yet, I propose that movie soundtracks given the right context can stir something in you other music just can’t. 

I love movie soundtracks.

I think they are fantastic for background music or to listen to in their own right. They never fail to rally, sadden, rouse or move me, I think they are one of the most emotionally strong forms of music you can buy… and this is why.

Movie’s have become such an huge commercial success, that as their production values rise so inevitably do the values of their OST’s (original sound tracks). You get full scores of classical musicians, famous pop artists and a whole range of talent nowadays contributing to the overall effect of a motion picture.

Yeah, there are men like Bon Iver out there who will never escape his cliché of log-cabin abandon to create one the most moving albums ever heard, and I have to admit that I’m a huge fan. As am I of other mediums, most notably classic music which would probably be the main rival to my point. Classical music has the privilege of social pedigree and a medium which can also be purchased to be used on movie soundtracks. But for now I will try and stay focussed on OST’s.

What OST’s benefit from is a context in which to create their music. I’m aware you could say this of any musician who composes his music after loss or other emotions but in most cases they are recorded and to some extent, composed after the film has been edited (an exception I am aware of is Terry Gilliam’s 12 Monkeys) which then puts them in the hands of masterful directors who have knowledge of pacing and prelude. And then it’s not as if these two artists do not collaborate; with the benefit of two industry experts (and not forgetting the talented musicians themselves) we have a genre of music that can make a connection with the listener like no other.

I love movie soundtracks.

Notable Examples:

  • The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford
  • The Fountain
  • Lord of the Rings Trilogy
  • Tron Legacy
  • Star Wars Saga
  • The Skin I Live In
  • Requiem for a Dream

Talented Composers:

Please leave a comment with your favourite soundtracks, or non-soundtracks songs and prove me wrong!

About Matt Knight Blog
http://www.matt-knight.net/about

Leave a Reply

